Technology Problems for Authors

I had planned to write a long and humorous post today. Then my computer failed to find my wireless mouse. The one sitting right next to it. Two hours and a great deal less patience later, I am writing a shorter and grumpier post instead.

Image of a woman appearing frustrated, in front of a laptop.
Photo by Yan Krukau on Pexels.com

I have often wondered how authors managed to write whole novels in the days before computers were invented. Now I’m wondering if they might actually have had the better plan.

Recent studies have revealed that writing by hand actually increases our level of creativity. Journalling is very popular for understanding and expressing emotions. The act of writing by hand is undoubtedly a powerful thing. It’s also far less stressful because there are really only two elements that could even have a problem. Unlike my iMac, that seems to have a new issue every week.

The downside is the editing process. When you want to change something in a computer file, you just replace what was there before. On paper, you can’t do that. Your only option is to make a complete mess of the first set of pages. You can write the whole thing out again. At some point though, it is going to have to be typed on a computer. Because we don’t have typesetters anymore!

Writing books is a job you can do anywhere. In theory. I have a back problem, which is greatly alleviated by using a desktop computer and a standing desk. The downside of this arrangement is that my writing equipment is completely stationary. I am currently being distracted by an enormous crane fly (AKA daddy long legs) on the wall behind me. And I can’t just pop into a different room to avoid it because my computer will not come with me.

A laptop is obviously a more mobile choice. But it’s not healthy for long periods of use. And you still have to carry a hefty lump around, so you’re probably not going very far with it anyway. Especially if you need the internet for those urgent mid-chapter research questions.

Of course we can now write on tablets, and even phones. But not quickly or easily. And the files still have to be transferred to a computer for editing and formatting. Which are essential tasks if you actually want to publish anything.

I saw a LinkedIn post this week about a virtual computer screen that you view through glasses. No-one else can see the screen you’re working on. And you only see the screen, not the rest of the office. This is intended to minimise distractions. As someone who is most often distracted by noise, I don’t think it would help me.

Another reader said her distractions were not in her environment at all but on the computer itself. She gets distracted by websites and email. And who doesn’t? These are new distractions that weren’t around in the days of writing books by hand. How much more focus must those authors have had for their writing than their modern day counterparts?

Do you ever feel like packing up your devices, and going back to pen and paper?

Enjoyed this post?

You might also like: AI in Book Publishing.

Why not check out my travel mystery series on Amazon. Or follow me on Instagram, Facebook, Goodreads or Bookbub.

Leave a comment